Our People

We are drawn together as a community of practice, a community of education partners who are convinced that the surest way to achieve lasting peace and prosperity is to build a world in which all people — girls and boys, women and men — can get an education and lead healthy, productive lives. One where every person can earn a living wage, have a voice in their community, and leave a better planet for future generations.

CODE Staff

EXECUTIVE TEAM

Scott Walter
Scott Walter
Executive Director
swalter@code.ngo

“Education is the golden key that makes the wonders of the world accessible to all.”

Hila Olyan
Hila Olyan
Director of International Programs
holyan@code.ngo

“People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” -Maya Angelou

CODE O
Andrea Helfer
Director of Fund Development, Marketing and Communications
ahelfer@code.ngo

CODE O
Marc Molnar
Director of Finance & Administration
mmolnar@code.ngo

OUR STAFF

Name  

Title

Email

Catherine Belshaw

Manager, Strategic Communications

cbelshaw@code.ngo

Claire Bolton

Program Officer, Literary Awards (parental leave)

cbolton@code.ngo

Zeenat Chisti

Controller

zchisti@code.ngo

Ranilce Iosif

Program Officer, BETTER, Mozambique

rgiosif@code.ngo

Jin Jang

Program Accountant

jjang@code.ngo

Clare McInnes

Donor Relations and Database Coordinator

cmcinnes@code.ngo

Heloisa Modesto

Program Manager, BETTER and Gender Specialist

hmodesto@code.ngo

Lynn O’Rourke

Program Manager, Literary Awards & Publishing

lorourke@code.ngo

Willy Rangira

Senior Program Manager (Ghana, Liberia, Sierra Leone)

wrangira@code.ngo

Edie Richard

Accounting Technician

erichard@code.ngo

Karen Sharkey

Monitoring & Evaluation

ksharkey@code.ngo

Laurie Tennian

Executive Coordinator

ltennian@code.ngo

Sue Wilson

Manager, Fund Development

swilson@code.ngo


CODE Board of Directors

Chair, Lynne Dean, Nassau, Bahamas

Past Chair, Jacques Bérubé, Coquitlam, BC

Treasurer, Bruce Montador, Ottawa, ON

Carolyn Berardino, Toronto, ON

Robert Bracey, Toronto, ON

Violaine Des Rosiers, Montreal, QC

William Forward, Toronto, ON

Vincent Greaney, Washington, DC, USA

Mike Meneer, Vancouver, BC

Jeremy Miller, Toronto, ON

Wendy Saul, St. Louis, MO, USA

Brian Traquair, Toronto, ON

Chair of CODE Foundation, John Bai, Toronto, ON

Executive Director / Ex-officio, Scott Walter

Honourary Life Counsel, Colin McNairn


CODE Ambassadors

"CODE Ambassadors" is a panel of distinguished Canadians who care about international education and support our long term success in delivering quality literacy programs to children. Under the patronage of the Governor-General, these outstanding citizens help open doors and guide our work.

Peter Mansbridge

Chair, Peter Mansbridge - Peter Mansbridge is the award-winning former Anchor and Chief Correspondent for CBC News and the anchor of The National. He has covered the biggest stories of our times, interviewed world leaders and hosted the program from across Canada and around the world.

Robert Bateman - Robert Bateman is a well known Canadian philanthropist, naturalist and accomplished artist. Formerly a teacher in Nigeria, Mr. Bateman has a deep connection with Africa and education.

Valerie Hussey - Valerie Hussey became a Canadian publisher of books for children after having worked in educational publishing in New York. In 1996, through CODE, she worked with Kenyan publishers and participated in the launch of Kitabu House, Kenya Children's Book Project, in Nairobi. Valerie received the Order of Canada for her work in publishing and philanthropy.

Karen Kain, C.C., LL.D., D.Litt., O.Ont.- Karen Kain is an internationally acclaimed dancer, a former chair of the Canada Council for the Arts, and currently the Artistic Director of the National Ballet of Canada. She received the Order of Canada in 1976.

Anton Kuerti - Anton Kuerti is one of the world’s top classical pianists, an active philanthropist, and Officer of the Order of Canada and the recipient of several honourary doctorates.

 

Anna Porter - Anna Porter has been one of Canada’s most respected book publishers for 30 years.