Our People

We are drawn together as a community of practice, a community of education partners who are convinced that the surest way to achieve lasting peace and prosperity is to build a world in which all people — girls and boys, women and men — can get an education and lead healthy, productive lives. One where every person can earn a living wage, have a voice in their community, and leave a better planet for future generations.

CODE Staff


Scott Walter
Scott Walter
Executive Director

“Education is the golden key that makes the wonders of the world accessible to all.”

Hila Olyan
Hila Olyan
Director of International Programs

“People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” -Maya Angelou

Allen LeBlanc
Allen LeBlanc
Director, Fund Development & Marketing
Marc Molnar
Director of Finance & Administration



Claire Bolton
Claire Bolton
Program Officer, Literary Awards

“It is not easy to hold a meeting with yourself and come out with a proper decision.” -Ama Ata Aidoo

Heloisa Modesto
Heloisa Modesto
Programme Manager and Gender Specialist

“Ser feliz sem motivo é a mais autêntica forma de felicidade.” -Carlos Drummond de Andrade

Lynn O’Rourke
Program Manager, Literary Awards & Publishing
Willy Rangira
Willy Rangira
Senior Program Manager

"Life is bliss"

Karen Sharkey
Karen Sharkey
Program Manager



Kayleigh Jooste
Donor Relations and Database Administrator
Natalie St Amour
Manager, Fund Development

"Kindness is love in action."

CJ West
CJ West
Digital Marketing Communications Officer

“I'm always ready to learn, although I do not always like being taught.” -Winston Churchill



Zeenat Chisti
Finance Controller
Jin Jang
Program Accountant
Edie Richard
Edie Richard
Accounting Technician

“Once I could read, I was free.”

Laurie Tennian
Executive Coordinator

CODE Honourary Patron

HE. David Johnston

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General of Canada

CODE Board of Directors, 2017-2018

Chair, Jacques Bérubé, Coquitlam, BC

Vice-Chair, Lynne Dean, Nassau, Bahamas

Treasurer, Bruce Montador, Ottawa, ON

Carolyn Berardino, Toronto, ON

Robert Bracey, Toronto, ON

Geoff Burt, Toronto, ON

Violaine Des Rosiers, Montreal, QC

William Forward, Toronto, ON

Jeremy Miller, Toronto, ON

Wendy Saul, St. Louis, MO, USA

Brian Traquair, Toronto, ON

Chair of CODE Foundation, John Bai, Toronto, ON

Executive Director / Ex-officio, Scott Walter

Honourary Life Counsel, Colin McNairn

CODE Ambassadors

"CODE Ambassadors" is a panel of distinguished Canadians who care about international education and support our long term success in delivering quality literacy programs to children. Under the patronage of the Governor-General, these outstanding citizens help open doors and guide our work.

Peter Mansbridge

Chair, Peter Mansbridge - Peter Mansbridge is the award-winning Chief Correspondent of CBC News and the anchor of The National. He has covered the biggest stories of our times, interviewed world leaders and hosted the program from across Canada and around the world.

Robert Bateman - Robert Bateman is a well known Canadian philanthropist, naturalist and accomplished artist. Formerly a teacher in Nigeria, Mr. Bateman has a deep connection with Africa and education.

Valerie Hussey - Valerie Hussey became a Canadian publisher of books for children after having worked in educational publishing in New York. In 1996, through CODE, she worked with Kenyan publishers and participated in the launch of Kitabu House, Kenya Children's Book Project, in Nairobi. Valerie received the Order of Canada for her work in publishing and philanthropy.

Karen Kain, C.C., LL.D., D.Litt., O.Ont.- Karen Kain is an internationally acclaimed dancer, a former chair of the Canada Council for the Arts, and currently the Artistic Director of the National Ballet of Canada. She received the Order of Canada in 1976.

Anton Kuerti - Anton Kuerti is one of the world’s top classical pianists, an active philanthropist, and Officer of the Order of Canada and the recipient of several honourary doctorates.


Anna Porter - Anna Porter has been one of Canada’s most respected book publishers for 30 years.