UNESCO International Literacy Prize Winners 2015

The theme of the 2015 UNESCO International Literacy prizes is Literacy and Sustainable Societies. There are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes awarded every year in recognition of excellence and innovation in literacy throughout the world, the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards) and the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards).

CODE is happy to announce our partner in Mozambique, Associação Progresso, has been awarded the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize for its ‘Literacy in Local Language, a Springboard for Gender Equality’ program, which uses literacy to promote changes in traditional practices that are harmful to women and girls. As well as paying special attention to teaching adults to read and write in a local language, it contributes to increasing the participation of women in local governing bodies, consultative councils and community based institutions in the districts covered by the program.

PRESS RELEASE: Canadian NGO CODE Partner, Associacao Progresso, Wins UNESCO's 2015 King Sejong International Literacy Prize

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Winners 2015

Happy International Literacy Day!

Tuesday, September 8, 2015
News Type: 

Related Content

Oct 12, 2016
25 Years Later - An Enduring Part of Tanzania’s Literacy Landscape. For post-independence, 1960’s Tanzania, prioritizing education was key to its transformation into a free and democratic country.
Mar 08, 2017
(Disponible en anglais seulement.) On this special day dedicated to honouring the women in our world, CODE proudly acknowledges the inspirational women with whom we have the privilege of working full article...
Jul 27, 2015
It’s with great sadness that we learned of the recent passing of the Honourable Flora MacDonald. Ms. MacDonald was a long-time friend of CODE, acting as one of our Ambassadors. The CODE Ambassadors full article...