Prix Burt de littératures africaines

Disponible en anglais seulement.

BAAYAL replaces the Burt Award for African Literature, a collection of four separate literary prizes in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, and Tanzania. The new multi-country grand prize will be awarded to an outstanding work of English-language, young adult literature by an Ethiopian, Ghanaian, Kenyan, or Tanzanian author, translator and/or illustrator. Both published and unpublished works of fiction, selected nonfiction, and graphic novels are eligible.

One title will be named the winner, its creator(s) to receive a prize of $10,000 CAD. A second title will be designated as an “honour book,” its creator(s) to receive a prize of $2,000 CAD. The remaining finalists will each receive a prize of $1,000 CAD. CODE will purchase 3,000 copies of the winning title and 3,000 copies of the honour book for each of the four participating countries, up to 12,000 copies per title. These books will be donated to schools, libraries, community centres, and NGOs. Additionally, the publishers of the winning title and honour book will each receive a grant of $2,000 CAD to support the promotion of their Burt Award titles.

"The new Burt Award in Africa is even bigger and better than the previous iteration of the award, recognizing the best young adult literature from the four participating countries and we hope additional African nations in the near future. Transitioning to a multi-country award means the competition is steeper, so it will be quite an achievement to be named to the shortlist.”
– Hadley Dyer, Manager, Literary Awards and Publishing, CODE

“The writers, illustrators, translators and publishers who create the grand prize-winning title and honour book will not only receive a generous monetary award but also have thousands of copies of their books donated to schools, libraries, and community in all participating countries, hugely expanding their audience. As well, CODE has committed to supporting the award program and the cause of literacy through a new public reading campaign, aimed at encouraging youth to fall in love with reading.”
– Claire Bolton, Program Officer, Literary Awards, CODE


In order to be eligible for the BAAYAL competition, works must first be finalists in one of the following national competitions: CODE’s Burt Award for Ethiopian Young Adult Literature, CODE’s Burt Award for Ghanaian Young Adult Literature, CODE’s Burt Award for Kenyan Young Adult Literature, CODE’s Burt Award for Tanzanian Young Adult Literature. Publishers operating in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya and Tanzania can now submit to CODE’s local implementing partners (see submission guidelines).

The deadline for submissions to the national competitions is May 15, 2017. The national winners will be announced in the fall of 2017.

Only finalists for the national competitions will be eligible for the grand prize, with a deadline for submissions of March 15, 2018. National finalists may be revised and improved before submission for the grand prize. The shortlist for the grand prize will be announced in July 2018, and the winner and honour book will be announced at a gala celebration in Accra, Ghana, in the fall of 2018.


Award Guidelines, Nomination Form, and FAQs


Burt Award Tanzania


The Burt Award in Tanzania is coordinated by the Children's Book Project (CBP), a Tanzanian, award-winning literacy organization.

Burt Award Ghana


The Ghana Book Trust (GBT) is the local coordinating organization administering the Burt Award in Ghana.

Burt Award Ethiopia


CODE-Ethiopia is the local coordinating organization administering the Burt Award in Ethiopia.



National Book Council of Kenya is the local coordinating organization administering the Burt Award in Kenya.