CODE's Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Literature

Burt Award for FNMI sealA literary award and literacy initiative like no other.

In collaboration with the Literary Prizes Foundation, the Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Literature is given annually to English-language literary works for young adults by First Nations, Inuit or Métis authors.

This year, one winner will be selected from a shortlist of three finalists. The creator(s) of the winning book (author, translator, or graphic novel illustrator) will be awarded $12,000. Each non-winning title will be named an honour book, and the creator(s) of each honour book will be awarded $2,000. The publishers of all three finalists will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2,500 copies, which will be delivered to First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth across Canada.


For more information, contact:

Lynn O’Rourke
Program Manager, Literary Awards & Publishing
613-232-3569 or 1-800-661-2633

Burt Award winning book covers

Join the conversation on Twitter @CODEBurtAwards and Facebook by using #BurtAward.

Learn more:

Our Partners:



Announcing the 2017 All-Stars ShortlistSep 08, 2017In celebration of International Literacy Day, CODE is delighted to announce its Burt Award for African Young Adult Literature shortlist. This first regional competition is dubbed the All-Stars edition because all of the first prize winners of CODE’s full article...
Winners of CODE’s 2017 Burt Award for Caribbean Literature AnnouncedApr 27, 2017CODE has announced the winners of its fourth annual Burt Award for Caribbean Literature, which recognizes outstanding writing for young adults by Caribbean authors. Winning titles to be donated to schools, libraries, and community organizations full article...