Celebrating the Winners of the 2015-16 Burt Award for African Literature

Burt Award for African Literature medalCODE congratulates the winners of the 2015/2016 Burt Award for African Literature!

The past few months have been busy for CODE’s partners in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya and Tanzania. They each awarded talented local authors of English language literary works for young adults with CODE’s Burt Award for African Literature.


On September 18, 2015, CODE’s partner, the Ghana Book Trust celebrated three winners. The second prize was shared by Plain Yellow by Ruby Yayra Goka (published by Techmate Publishers) and Lightning by David Kwame Kwakye (published by Step Books Publishers), with Witches of Honour by Asare Adei (published by Asdan Vision Books) awarded the third prize. More about CODE's Burt Award for African Literature - Ghana

Burt Award Winners Ghana 2015-16
(L-R) Asare Adei, Ruby Yayra Goka, Dzifa Gomashie (Deputy Minister for Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts), and David Kwame Kwakye


Meanwhile, on the other side of the continent the National Book Development Council of Kenya (NBDCK) awarded three prizes to authors from their country on September 25, 2015. In first place was Sabina and the Mystery of the Ogre by Christopher Okemwa (published by Nsemia Publishers), in second place was Names and Secrets by Mark Mutali Chetambe (published by East African Educational Publishers Ltd) and in third place was High Tide at Shibale by Charles Okoth (published by Phoenix Publishers). More about CODE's Burt Award for African Literature - Kenya

Burt Award winners Kenya 2015-16
Two Chief Guests (second and fourth, L-R) posing with the three winners of the NBDCK 2015 Burt Award: Mark Chetembe (1st from L); Christopher Okemwa (3rd from L), and Charles O. Okoth (2nd from R).


CODE Ethiopia celebrated its Burt Award winners on February 27, 2016. They are: A Lasting Treasure by Eyob Getahun (first place); The Lone Fighter by Kibrom G/Medhin (second place); Summer Time Rescue by Biruk Worku (third place). All three winning titles were published by our local partner, CODE Ethiopia. More about CODE's Burt Award for African Literature – Ethiopia

Burt Award winners Ethiopia 2015-16
(L-R) Executive Director of CODE Ethiopia Ato Yalew Zeleke, 1st prize winner Eyob Getahun, 3rd prize winner Biruk Worku, 2nd prize winner Kibrom G/Medhin. Photo credit: Biruk Worku


Last but not least, on March 18, 2016 the Children’s Book Project for Tanzania announced their winners. The first place was posthumously awarded to Dr. Edwin Semzaba  for The Adventures of Tunda and Zamaradi  (published by Exodia Publishers). The second place was awarded to The Raid and The Eclipse by W.E. Mkufya (published by Mangrove Publishers). The third place prize was awarded to Human Poachers by Elias Mutani (published by Longhorn Publishers Limited). More about CODE's Burt Award for African Literature – Tanzania

Burt Award winners Tanzania 2015-16
(R-L) Mr. William Mkufya (2nd prize winner), Ramadhan Ali (Data Officer, CBP), Pilli Dumea (Executive Secretary, CBP), Sarah Mlaki (Director of Primary Education, Tanzania Ministry of Education).


Tuesday, April 26, 2016
News Type: 
Burt Award News

Related Content

Mar 22, 2017
(Disponible en anglais seulement.) Three finalists were selected from among submissions of both published books and unpublished manuscripts. Winning titles to be published and distributed to hundreds full article...
Oct 03, 2016
“I am so happy and grateful! I intend to support reading by donating these books to schools, of course beginning with my former school.” —Nicholas Kamau, alias Goro wa Kamau, 1st place winner.
Oct 13, 2015
Papillote Press, the Bocas Lit Fest and CODE are delighted to announce the forthcoming publication of Gone to Drift by the award-winning Jamaican writer Diana McCaulay. This young adult novel, which full article...